Mandukya Upanishad

The Mandukya Upanishad is one of the principal Upanishads. The Upanishads are ancient Indian philosophical texts that form the foundation of Hindu spirituality.

The Mandukya Upanishad is one of the shortest Upanishads, but is highly revered for its depth of insight into the nature of reality and consciousness. It is named after the sage Manduka. He was an explorer of states of consciousness.

Key aspects and teachings found in the Mandukya Upanishad

1. AUM (OM)

The Mandukya Upanishad focuses on the sacred syllable “AUM” (or “OM”). It is considered the primordial sound from which the entire universe emerges. This Upanishad delves into the significance of AUM. Here AUM represents the three states of consciousness which are waking (A), dreaming (U) and deep sleep (M) There also a silence that follows the M and this represents the transcendent fourth state (Turiya) that underlies other states of consciousness.

2. Four States of Consciousness

The Mandukya Upanishad describes four states of consciousness, corresponding to the syllables of AUM:

   – Waking State (Jagrat) – The state of wakefulness and external sensory perception (A).

   – Dream State (Svapna) – The state of dreams and internal mental activity (U).

   – Deep Sleep State (Sushupti) – The state of dreamless sleep & absence of mental activity (M).

   – Turiya (The Fourth) – The transcendent fourth state that represents the pure consciousness, beyond the other three states and their modifications. It is the state of self-realisation and spiritual awakening.

3. Non-Duality (Advaita)

The Mandukya Upanishad emphasizes the non-dual nature of reality, asserting that the individual self (Atman) and the ultimate reality (Brahman) are one and the same. It presents the idea that the Turiya state represents the realization of the non-dual, eternal essence that pervades all existence.

4. Importance of Self-Knowledge

This Upanishad emphasises the significance of self-knowledge (Atma Jnana) as the key to liberation (Moksha). Self-knowledge leads to the realization of one’s true nature as the eternal, unchanging consciousness (Atman).

5. Meditation and Contemplation

The Mandukya Upanishad encourages contemplative meditation on the syllable AUM and the states of consciousness it represents. It is a profound tool for introspection and self-inquiry. This enquiry leads to higher states of awareness and understanding.

The Mandukya Upanishad’s teachings have had a profound impact on the development of Hindu philosophy and spiritual practices. It has also influenced various Indian schools most particularly Advaita Vedanta. Advaita Vedanta emphasises the unity of the individual soul (Atman) with the ultimate reality (Brahman). Through its exploration of the nature of consciousness and reality, the Mandukya Upanishad offers profound insights into the human experience and the journey towards spiritual awakening and liberation.

IYogaa offers Yoga classes for all levels and needs.

Our practice is based on classical Yoga fused with modern neuroscience.

All our classes and programmes are structured and progressive – to help you deepen your Yoga journey. 

We also offer our IYogaa Foundation Programme – a 12-week program that gives you complete grounding in Yoga while improving both physical and mental wellbeing.

It is ideal for anybody who wants to function at their best.

Copyright © 2023 IYogaa. All Rights Reserved.